The “Garden of Mughals”

17 06 2009

My experience in Pakistan is coming to an end unfortunately. Being in my last days here in Pakistan, my company – GlaxoSmithKline – thought it would be nice for me to travel around the country a bit, to get a deeper sight into Pakistani culture, society and beauties. The plan was made for me to travel to Hunza Valley, one of the most beautiful places on Earth, thought to be the the legendary valley of Shangri-La. On my way to Hunza I was supposed to visit Lahore and Islamabad, this meaning that I would see the the cultural capital of the country and also the administrative capital of Pakistan.

The experience itself was amazing and I would like to start with telling the story of me travelling to Lahore – also known as “The Garden of Mughals” because of its rich Mughal heritage.

I had only one day reserved for Lahore, and for sure I missed a lot of interesting spots. In fact… I saw only 3 up to 4 local attractions. In stead I was fascinated to how different this city can be to what I imagined it would be. I mean, I know Karachi, I stood here for almost 3 months but Lahore is so different and I somehow feel sorry that I didn’t had the chance of experiencing more of it, but at the same time I’m thankful for being there even for one day only.

The history of Lahore is pretty rich in facts and interesting happenings. It is said to be there for the last 4000 years at least and that its founder is Loh, son of Rama (hindu epic hero from Ramayana). More recently though, meaning in the last 500 years, it was ruled by Mughals (it was capital of Mughal Empire for a few years), Sikhs and British. Now its the second largest city of Pakistan with 10 million people, capital of the State Province of Punjab, a symbol for Pakistani independence and the cultural heart of the country.

In Lahore I was accommodated at the interns house (thanks for Laura, Matt and Stephanie ;)) and with the huge contribution of some friends (Arsalaan, Talha and Syed) I visited some important sites such as Badshahi Mosque – an impressive sized and extremely beautiful mosque build by the Mughals, the Lahore Fort – the place where every  power which was present in this city set its print in the architecture and aspect of the place or Cooco’s Cafe (in the photo) – a famous restaurant in the Old Town, built exactly near the former Red Light District of Lahore. We also spotted Minar-e-Pakistan – The Independence Monument (which was closed because people have a tendency of killing themselves by throwing themselves from the heights of the Monument) and The Sikh Mausoleum of  Maharaja Ranjit Singh.

I found Lahore to be more clean and neat than Karachi, but also hotter (at least this time of the year). The temperature reached at some point 47-50 degrees while we were roaming around the city and for instance when we were at Badshahi Mosque we thought that our bare-feet got burnt.

If you ever get in Lahore keep in mind that is a place that will kindly welcome you, it will show majestic pieces of history, culture and architecture or it will impress you with its immense dishes – which I think they taste better than in any other place in Pakistan (don’t miss the Food Street ;)) 

You can find my Lahore pictures right over here and I shall be back with some information regarding the rest of the trip as well 😉

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 04 2010
yasir ali joyia

Salam 2 all!
i love my country very much and i love those beautiful scenes which God has blessed us.
I want to say that it is a beautiful website and i want to say thanks to the administration of this site who tried to explain the beauty of pakistan. keep it up.
LONG LIVE PAKISTAN.

17 04 2010
EHTISHAM AAS

SALAM!
I LOVE PAKISTAN

11 06 2011
Anas Mughal

faboulus book

Leave a Reply

